Nokia 900 4.3“ Windows Phone. Will there be a Window’s phone or tablet in your Xmas stocking this year?

The partnership between Nokia and Windows for a new generation of smartphones can be seen in the Nokia 900 series smartphones. The Windows 8 version the 920 was just released for this Xmas along with the launch of the Window 8 desktop OS and Surface tablet by Microsoft. This model gave me a chance to play with the reinvented Windows interface which is the foundation for Windows 8

Nokia btw is not dead, they are still ranked the #2 mobile phone vendor in the world according to a May 2012 IDC report based on 1st quarter shipment numbers. Samsung has eclipsed them at #1. Nokia was previously ranked number 1, but their smartphone market share lags behind the leaders Apple, Android and Blackberry and this is the challenge they are facing today for growth. I asked Nokia “ How are they going to win the smartphone race”. Here is Nokia’s response.

“We started on a journey in February 2011. With every step we take, we are broadening our portfolio and increasing the innovation that we deliver to people. We aim to always demonstrate we are lead partner in the Windows Phone ecosystem, the strength of the ecosystem and Nokia’s leadership in smartphone innovation against competitors on all platforms. Each new, innovative smartphone we release is another ambitious step we are taking. There are many steps ahead for Nokia.”
– Chad Saliba, Portfolio Collaboration Manager at Nokia

What I liked about the smartphones is that the user experience took a page out of the Apple playbook of “Simple and easy to use design” principles. When you first look at it, it is based on a tile design that is the framework for the Windows 8 interface. “This is a big departure from the iPhone or Android interface of small buttons to navigate through the device says, Kunal Gupta of Polar Mobile, this tile design is unique to Microsoft and magazine apps will have to incorporate these tiles into their design strategy.” Is this a design trend for digital media? I am seeing this tile design grid popping up on web sites and android tablets.

The Nokia 900 dimensions are 127.8 x 68.5 x 11.5 mm weighing 160 grams with a 4.3 inch screen. It has 16 GB of memory. The Nokia 920 comes with a 4.5 inch screen and different look.

The Nokia 900 dimensions are 127.8 x 68.5 x 11.5 mm weighing 160 grams with a 4.3 inch screen. It has 16 GB of memory. The Nokia 920 comes with a 4.5 inch screen and different look.

TabletWindows

The big tiles on the Nokia 900 phone reminded me of a land line phone for seniors with the big buttons which made me feel old for some reason. People who I showed the phone to were a little intimidated by the tile design as it was a big change from what they have been accustomed to with the current devices in the marketplace.This could be a reason that in the 920 the tile design was tweaked as the tiles were too big perhaps.

The Nokia 900 4.3 inch form factor  is a better size for a smartphone in my opinion based on readability and ease of use and the Nokia 920 has a 4.5 inch screen. In the smaller smartphones, typing or hitting buttons to navigate suffers from “Big Fingers, Little Buttons syndrome”, which is a common complaint I hear from users of smartphones. I was not always a big fan of the device going smaller, just small enough is good for me and the 4.3+ inch screen I predict will be the size of choice for all new smartphone activation’s regardless of the brand.

The core functions of smartphones of email, text and voice were easy to find as there are dedicated tiles for these functions. The contacts function, called People, enables me to connect on LinkedIn and have access to all my contacts to phone or email which I thought was quite a clever social media tie-in. It is my rolodex in the cloud. Another standard feature in all smartphones now is travel navigation with maps and GPS and the Nokia 900 has one called Nokia Drive. The Microsoft App store also has a presence in the interface plus a xBox tile for online gaming.

This is a good smartphone it is fast, light, sturdy and easy to use. I imagine the Windows 8 version will be a little better as there are still some bugs to iron out as I found the back navigation, when I was using my Rogers/Yahoo email account quite confusing. The use of the email client was also a major relearn as the email inbox listing of emails is listed by person instead of time received. When you check on the person’s email address, a list of emails from that person are date stamped. I had trouble clicking on the emails as the links did not work.

Rating – 4 out of 5
Ryan Winsborow my technical guy from http://www.nerds4hire.com likes the smartphone and wants to switch from his Motorola Razor using Android, but he is a Windows guy and he likes that it can work with his Hotmail, desktop, tablet and XBox. Interoperability between devices is a good thing. And there are a lot of Windows guys and gals out there.

I would like to wish everyone a great Christmas and Holiday season and I hope you all get what you wish for.

Comments
2 Responses to “Nokia 900 4.3“ Windows Phone. Will there be a Window’s phone or tablet in your Xmas stocking this year?”
  1. I like the beneficial information you give inside your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check once again here frequently. I am quite confident I’ll learn a great deal of new stuff proper here! Finest of luck for the next!

  2. Rita Ora says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

Leave a Reply

